SANGSTER SHIELD 2007 RESULTS

Thanks to all who took part this year. Logs were received from 25 operators.

Congratulations to Armin ZL1KMN in winning the Sangster Shield.

Tom ZL1WW is a very close 2nd with Ron ZL1TW making the top 3.

Barry ZL2LN (Branch 24) gains the Arthur Stevens South Island Trophy from the 3 entries received.

There were no newly licenced entrants for the Transistor Trophy.

A smattering of VKs and a quite a number of rarer countries were worked as DX by top stations.

Whangarei Branch 28 achieves the Branch Award. - A total of 5 logs were received from Branch 28. Well done!.

The 19 qualifying active Branches were:- 3,8,10,13,20,22,24,27,28,29,39,42,45,50,64,65,66,72,78.

Some incorrect branch claims were due to inaccurate copy. I have deducted only one Branch (Te Puke 53) as a multiplier for which only one contact has been recorded. I would like to re-iterate that operators are encouraged to take part in the contest no matter how few contacts they can manage. We would all sooner have the extra activity rather than less.

- Once again the scoring task was a pleasure as was the opportunity for me to take part this year.
- Most entrants have improved over their last year scores.

Comments received:-

- Tom ZL1WW operated from Tauranga rather than from his home QTH. *This location has worked wonders for his performance -ZL2KZ*
- Wilbert ZL2BSJ operated from Quartz Hill (Makara)
- Paul ZL1PC welcomed the ZL4s but, along with Ralph ZL2AOH, was disappointed that there was no ZL3s this year.
- My antenna fell down on Sunday & I spent all the afternoon climbing trees & restoring order ZL2KZ.
- John ZL1VD was thankful that his neighbour's plasma TV was not on, bemoaned the presence of untamed bug keys & also missing Jumbo ZL1HVs presence in this contest.
- Mike ZL2AUA appreciates the simple format of the Sangster & thanks all the gentlemanly operators who slowed down for him.
- Bill ZL2AVL observes the total lack of QRO stations this year & suggests we consider reverting to the original QRP contest concept.
- Colin ZL4KJ from the deep South successfully employs the "Napier Branch design" Delta Loop.
- ZL1ROK provided a photo of his Small Wonder Labs 80 home built kit complete with Gelcel battery (much larger than the rig itself!) & handkey.
- Mike ZL2AQL was surprised by the speed in reporting on his first go in the Sangster.
- Denys ZL2AWH experiences S9+ band noise 100% of the time but still managed to appear in most logs.

- 73's de Glenn ZL2KZ

Sangster Shield Results 2007										
	Sangster Sh	on								
Place	Station	Name	0-5w	6w+	DX	Bchs	Pwr	Total	Branch	Equipment
1	ZL1KMN	Armin Ficza	249	0	5	17	5w	22015	66	K'wood TS930, Vertical & 2 el dipole 3 &15m
2	ZL1WW	Tom Spackman	242	0	1	18	5w	21960	39	Icom 725, Full Wave 80m Loop 30m up
3	ZL1PC	Paul Slako	240	0	1	17	5w	20570	28	Icom 746 pro, Full Wave Loop
4	ZL1ALZ	John Balsille	227	0	2	17	5w	19635	65	K'wood TS120V, 1/2w Dipole
5	ZL1PZ	lan Sexton	214	0	1	18	5w	19440	10	K'wood TS830 driving 7C5 valve, 80m Zepp
6	ZL1TW	Ron Willcocks	227	0	2	16	5w	18480	28	Elecraft K2, 80/40 trap dipole
7	ZL2KZ	Glenn Kingston	190	0	0	17	5w	16150	50	H/Brew valve Xcvr, BLY87A final, 1/2w Dipole
8	ZL1BYZ	John Shaw	207	0	0	15	5w	15525	65	FT1000mp V Field, Trapped 80/40 dipole
9	ZL2LN	Barry Davenport	196	0	1	15	5w	14850	24	Yaesu FT847, G5RV
10	ZL2AOH	Ralph Sutton	154	0	0	17	5w	13090	50	Kenwood TS120V, Dipole
11	ZL2BSJ	Wilbert Knol	161	0	1	16	5w	13040	50	FT1000MP, GP, Makara antennas
12	ZL2BIF	Sid McKain	161	0	0	16	2w	12880	72	Argonaut 509, Long Wire
13	ZL1VD	John Cutler	167	0	0	14	5w	11690	42	Yaesu FT847, 100ft centre fed, 1942 hand key
14	ZL2AUA	Mike Burch	135	0	0	17	5w	11475	17	Icom 735, Windom
15	ZL1WI	Roy Milam	163	0	0	14	5w	11410	3	FT 767, 1/2w dipole open wire feeders
16	ZL2AVL	Bill Luscombe	141	0	0	16	5w	11280	45	Kenwood TS120V, Double extended Zepp
17	ZL1MAT	Matthew Pearce	143	0	1	15	5w	10875	28	Elecraft K2 xcvr, Dipole
18	ZL4IM	John Norton	92	0	1	12	5w	5640	8	TS 850SAT, 4 Sq. Antenna
19	ZL4KJ	Colin Robertson	89	0	0	12	4w	5340	8	K'wood TS120V, 80m Delta Loop
20	ZL1RP	Cliff Reynolds	102	0	0	10	5w	5100	10	Kenwood TS940, G5RV
21	ZL1DAC	Charlie Moates	78	0	0	10	5w	3900	28	Elecraft K2, Dipole
22	ZL1ROK	Mark Vincent	68	0	0	11	3w	3740	29	Small Wonder Labs 80 kit, 1/2w dipole
-	ZL1AW	Allan Walker	66	0	0	11	5w	3630	28	Elecraft K2, 80m Dipole
24	ZL2AQL	Mike Spearman	44	0	0	10	5w	2200	39	Yaesu FT101Z, Centre fed Dipole, hand key
25	ZL2AWH	Denys Brosnan	31	0	0	8	5w	1240	13	TenTec Argosy, 80/40 Diamond trap dipole
	Transistor Trophy (Opr licensed less than 1 year)									
	No entrants this year									
	Arthur Stevens South Island Trophy									